DELL OptiPlex 755 XP SP2 installation BSOD

Posted on January 25, 2008. Filed under: Debugging, Uncategorized |

Just got DELL OptiPlex 755 (with STMicro TPM chip). It comes with Vista Ultimate.

When we tried to install XP SP2 from boot, just when windows starts, after loading setup drivers, we end up with BSOD crash with stop code 0x0000007B. Naturally, this stop code points to some issues with IDE controllers.

I looked into the BIOS and seen that we have a SATA hard disk. Fine. Next step is to look at which controller it is using. In this case by default it is set to AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface). I had my suspicions on this and changed this to use ATA and tried to install XP SP2. Voila! It worked!

Sidenote: I also draw debugging cartoons and other gags at my website: http://www.simianart.com. For debugging cartoons visit Dump Analysis Site

Have fun.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

52 Responses to “DELL OptiPlex 755 XP SP2 installation BSOD”

RSS Feed for A Glitch in Code Takes Nine Department Comments RSS Feed

AHA!! I was having the same problem and that worked for me, too. Thanks!

Thanks a Ton! I hit a brick wall and then I found this little paragraph that took away all my booting problems Thanks again. -Jake-

Thanks a lot! That was the solution to my installation problems. Solved.
Matthias

Glad to know it is working. You are all most welcome :) Cheers.

You have no idea how much time I spent banging my head against the wall on this one. I <3 you vedala.

Thank YOU,

I looked into the BIOS and seen that we have a SATA hard disk. Fine. Next step is to look at which controller it is using. In this case by default it is set to AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface). I had my suspicions on this and changed this to use ATA and tried to install XP SP2. Voila! It worked!

I tryed this way It was installed . But i have one dout Can i get the actul speed of the system like how the sata controller works

Thanks I’m so happy :-)

Thanks Vedala, Life Saver! :)

You are welcome, Nick. Cheers.

THANK YOU … I would love to kill DELL on this

LOL!! I can supply you necessary ammo.

Cant tell you how useful this has been. Just spent two days trying to get round this and it was as simple as that. Thank you so much nvedala. You have saved me from losing a customer!!!!

You are welcome Sparky. Losing customer on this issue would have been terrible.
What is unfortunate, I think, is DELL assumed people will only install Vista and shipped it with that setting. They did not bother to test XP installation and thus screwed up happiness of many.

For some reason I remember reading somewhere that there is a way to slip the AHCI driver into the installer I think. Thanks for the post, saved me a ton of time.

Thanks very much, I had the same problem with 4 of them.

Dell Optiplex 755 windows xp install bsod.

Thanks, I had the same problem and this led me to the solution. Although instead of disabling AHCI, I used nLite to create a new ISO, I slipstreamed SP3 and added Dell’s storage drivers. Burned the ISO and the install worked fine this time, no BSOD. nLite is an awesome program, I have used it many times to integrate drivers into the install disc that are required during setup on XP and Server 2003, alot less trouble than trying to dig up an old floppy drive and finding a good floppy disc to use.

Great! I’ll try out nLite. Sounds like an useful tool from your description :)
cheers

Thanx dude!! This worked great and just to let everyone know that with other models of Dells, you can have the same fix but different problem issue. If you get and error in the XP install setup, “Windows could not detect any installed hard drives” and then with some its own solutions after that. You can use the same fix that nvedala said.

AWESOME!

verga hermano me funciono muchas gracias.. aunq es raro q tenga esa configuracion de fabrica, tendria q reconocerlo automaticamente..

worked beautifully. Thanks!

You are welcome, Joey.

thanks, buy you a beer or your beverage of choice sometime

You would not believe how long I have spent on this. Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you. 1 simple thing to sort out what looked like a hell of a problem

I’ve been getting around this by ripping a floppy drive from one of my older machines and then manually loading SATA drivers that I hunted down. I cannot tell you how much time this has saved me. Thanks!

This trick also worked to get around an XP Pro install for which I did not have the media. I was able to use this to install XP home instead.
Massive thank you!

you are the greatest!!! you saved me alot of work

Eres grande maestro, pase 2 dias buscando esto y finalmente logre hacer la instalacion.

Thanks worked like a charm!

thanx a lot man, you saved me…
this solution is specially for dell pcs

OH MY GOD! I was researching this for hours! At first I thought it was the SCSI Drivers and was going to have to get a floppy from back in 2000 to load them manually. I am using SMS to push Vista using SMS and it kept crashing on the Windows Pre-installation Environment. THANK YOU!!!

you are welcome. I did not expect this particular post will have most hits :) Should del DELL.

Nice tip. I once send back a computer to DELL because I was facing this issue. I had a few hard hours trying to face this issue with XP. Its 2 am in the morning. Thank god for this article. :) LOL

Thank you, it worked very well.
Stupid Dell using AHCI…

ah…i see..thanks a lot mate, it’s worked succesfull

thanks for this really helps…

thanks, was hacing this problem too

Had the same problem. Thanku v.much

Thanks! Tried several different OS loads, 2 Ghost Images, pulled the memory, ran diags, changed drives and spent a couple hours on the net for a solution. Your tip fixed it instantly.

thnx sana i succeed i hope and other guyz will get a solution and tell others,ths thing made me unhappy now i am so happy,have a hectic time i lav u for your interesting in this things

I must say, you are the man…I have messed with installing xp pro on this computer for a day, and finally i decided to get over my ego lol and check out what fellow computer nerds thought. Thank you so much…I just love when a plan comes together. :-)

Thank you for posting this info. I had wasted some time before discovering you had found the solution. Many, many thanks again

Thanks a ton for this, just ran into this problem, I was about to have to go try and find a usb floppy, attempt to load the pre-OS install and that was going to be a nightmare, thanks for the save on this one
!!

3cheers

Thank you so much, i had the same probleme and now it’s work, thank you.

wow… It worked!! Thanks sooo much for posting this fix!!!

I have to say, I read this, and I’ve been trying to figure out why my computer had been doing the same thing for the last two days since it had a specific error message that had nothing to do with that, and as soon as I did what you mentioned above, I was happy enough I did a dance. so I just have to thank you for saying this, it saved me what was left of my sanity

but may soultion not solved my hdd not changed atasystem

i have the same problem and i did the same work around but it did not work just the same. i manage to install Win XP SP3 but it won’t bootup normally. if there is no Windows installer in the CD drive it will not bootup. but if i put the Windows installer, after asking to press any key to boot from cd and let it pass, it will go to Windows and boot it up properly.

need help please.

First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thank you!

Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I
was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if
you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi every one!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

