Dr. Debugalov cartoon marathon slow down…

Posted on July 20, 2008. Filed under: bugs, cartoons, Debugging |

It was a marathon. A week of Dr. Debugalov’s debugging tales’ cartoons has ended. My free time last week is over and I’ll be developing and debugging in a new project. It does not mean there will be no more cartoons 🙂 I’ll more or less sketch a cartoon-a-day.

It is little time-consuming to scan and transfer pencil drawing to digital form and work on it. I’m still struggling with GIMP and Artweaver (both are excellent freeware raster graphics programs). Smoothness of pencil drawing is lost (due to grayscale pixels) when scanned and that is the main problem for me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Dr. Debugalov cartoon marathon slow down…”

RSS Feed for A Glitch in Code Takes Nine Department Comments RSS Feed

I didn’t know you were drawing them in realtime. I thought you had them cached 🙂

Actually, I’m somewhere in between, doc. 🙂 I do draw our debug cartoons, almost everyday, and few of them at once. Scan and keep them; Work on them in spare time and release one by one. 🙂 Like I said, time consuming thing is working in editors. I’m thinking of investing in graphics tablet. It’s cheap and many artists swear by it.

I check GIMP and Artweaver, need free editors for book covers 🙂

For book covers you may want to consider Inkscape (free) vector graphics editor. Vector images can scale very well without losing resolution. So, presetting for print can be easier with svg formats.
Otherwise, raster editors i mentioned can be used if you work with the correct size from the beginning.
Wikipedia has the list of free raster editors
and vector editors


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

