WinDbg internal release with CLR support

Posted on December 11, 2008. Filed under: Debugging, Tools | Tags: |

As explained by Volker von Einem here, WinDbg 6.70.05.0 is special in the sense it has CLR debugging support. Microsoft erred and released this version which is actually internal release. It is not available for download anymore and those who have kept copies are lucky. Worst still, MS never intends to release this CLR support in the foreseeable future.

Just in case if you are that unlucky one and have not got 6.70.05.0 version with you, I digged out a link which seems to work:

hxxp://cert.sjtu.edu.cn/download/mdt/dbg_x86_6.7.05.0.exe

I need to get MD5 hash from Volker since he has original one from MS. I’ll then update this post just to make sure Chinese website has not modified it in anyway.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “WinDbg internal release with CLR support”

RSS Feed for A Glitch in Code Takes Nine Department Comments RSS Feed

Did you ever get that MD5 hash?

Nope. But guess what! I usually save my downloads at two locations. When I dug up, voila! I found the 6.7.5.0 version I had downloaded from MS. Let me know if you need it.
Cheers.

Nice one! I’d really appreciate a copy…

Sorry, I forgot about it. Here’s the MD5 of MY copy.
I checked the file with latest Norton AV but I give no guarantee for correctness:
4be556e2662fe182ee238d7f4d68ff84 *dbg_x86_6.7.05.0.exe

uh-oh! I’ve used “Express Checksum Calculator” which is freely downloadable. It is showing MD5 of my dbg_x86_6.7.05.0.exe as: 762D3C037D3F50161295E4C8EADB685C

Damn! Not sure whether free calculator doing it correct. Volker, if you don’t mind, can u use the above software to check and let me know?

Hi nvedala,
Sure would appreciate a copy of your file as well. Thanks.
Alex

will send you mail with the link 🙂

I’d appreciate a link to your copy as well 🙂

If you are still giving out copies, I would really like to get my hands on it.

Sure. What is your email id? same as given while commenting?

yes same email. much thanks. I’m trying to find a memory leak, and version 6.11 doesn’t have the nice bells and whistles.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

