GPG4Win: Kleopatra won’t import certificate or does not show list of certificates during encryption

Posted on June 27, 2013. Filed under: bugs, Woes |

Windows 7. 32 bit. One fine day GPG4Win’s mistress Kleopatra stopped showing public keys of people. I could not encrypt files anymore because of missing public keys.

I gently nudged Ms.Kleo to import certificates. But at the end of the import, Ms.Kleo purrs with message “…. processed:0, imported:0”. Certificates are not imported. Gaah!

Time to fire up handy sysinternals tool “procmon”. I’ll not go into details of analysis. I noticed that gpg.conf used in this case is coming from “My Documents\PGP-Keyrings\gpg4win”. Opened “gpg.conf” and noticed that entries for primary-keyring and secret-keyring got corrupted. They are pointing to wrong location where public and secret key rings are located (not sure how this corruption happened).

Fix the location:

###+++—- GPG conf —+++###

primary-keyring “<path to pubring.pkr>”

secret-keyring “<path to secring.skr>”

 

Now Ms. Kleopatra behaves. Voila!

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “GPG4Win: Kleopatra won’t import certificate or does not show list of certificates during encryption”

RSS Feed for A Glitch in Code Takes Nine Department Comments RSS Feed

I had a vaguely similar problem. Kleo 2.2.0 on Windows 7 64-bit. I copied my pubring.gpg from my Ubuntu box to my Windows box, and in Kleo ran Import Certificates on that pubring.gpg. But when I searched for a public key that I use all the time, it wasn’t there. Didn’t make sense. Looked all over, tried other keyrings, nothing, could not find my recipient. Taking your suggestion, kind of, I looked in C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\gnupg and saw some .lock files from a while ago. I killed Kleo, and reimported certs, still couldn’t find my recipient. Not sure why, but I tried to Import Certificates again on the same pubring.gpg. Each time I ran Import Certs, Kleo reported new keys and signatures. After a couple of times, my recipient appeared! After a few more Import Certs runs, it finally twice in a row reports 0 keys or signatures added.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

